The Southern Region is bordered by the city of Sydney and by the Botany Bay Local Government Area. Major suburbs in this region are Alexandria, Botany, Mascot, Rosebery, Waterloo and Zetland.

The region has the lowest population density at 2,263 people per square metre, but this figure is most likely to change with population in the region growing by 11,172 people per year.