Dong Nam Bo is made up of one municipality, Ho Chi Minh City, and seven provinces: Dong Nai, Binh Duong, Ba Ria-Vung Tau, Binh Phuoc, Tay Ninh, Binh Thuan and Ninh Thuan.

The Southeastern Region is the most economically developed area in the country. It is also the most urbanized area in Vietnam, with over half of the country’s population living here.