The Caraga region is composed of the provinces of Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Surigao del Norte and Surigao del Sur. Its name is derived from an old territory—Kalagan—which once included Surigao.

It is a region rich in natural resources and a potential tourism hub, with its beautiful beaches, outstanding rock formations, caves, cascading waterfalls, and hidden lagoons. About 70% of its land is covered by forests, but the forest cover is gradually decreasing.

Caraga is rich in mineral deposits such as iron, gold, silver, nickel, chromite, manganese and copper. Its leading crops include palay, banana and coconut. While it has posted some positive economic growth numbers in the last few years, this largely rural area is still one of the poorest regions in the country.