Kuala Lumpur literally means “muddy confluence.” Malaysia’s first federal territory began life as a tin mining town in the heart of Selangor in 1857, at the juncture of the Klang and Gombak Rivers.  As it prospered, it was settled by Malays from nearby towns along with miners from China and immigrants from India. It became the state capital in 1880, under the British-appointed Chinese captain Yap Ah Loy, who converted the mining town into a thriving commercial success.

Key districts:
Bandar Tun Razak, Batu, Bukit Bintang, Cheras, Kepong, Lembah Pantai, Segambut, Seputeh, Setiawangsa, Titiwangsa, Wangsa Maju

Kuala Lumpur’s Golden Triangle offers the best of the territory's retail, dining, entertaining and other commercial outlets, including boutique hotels. The centre of the Golden Triangle is Star Hill, or Bukit Bintang, whose key districts are Ampang, Kuala Lumpur City Centre (KLCC), Ampang Hilir, Kenny Hills/Bukit Tunku/Taman Duta, Ukay Heights

Other prime Kuala Lumpur districts include Lembah Pantai, with its key residential areas of Bangsar, Pantai Dalam, and Pantai Hill Park, and Segambut, with its key residential areas of Mont' Kiara, Sri Hartamas, Taman Tun Dr Ismail TTDI, Damansara Heights/Bukit Damansara, Bukit Kiara.