Inagua consists of the islands of Great Inagua, Little Inagua, Sheep and Roller Cay, and Sail Rock off the southeast tip of Great Inagua. The district’s capital and only harbour is Matthew Town.

Great Inagua has the Bahamas’ largest bird sanctuary, Inagua National Park. It shelters more than 80,000 Caribbean flamingos, the endangered white crowned pigeon, roseate spoonbills, hummingbirds, Bahamian parrots, pelicans, herons, egrets, Bahama pintail ducks, and other exotic bird species. It is also home to the endangered green sea turtle, loggerheads and hawksbill turtles. Little Inagua is an entirely uninhabited island except for herds of wild donkeys, goats, and exotic birds.

Another site of interest in Inagua is the Morton Salt Crystal Factory, the second largest solar salt factory in North America and also the district’s primary source of income. There are also some famous shipwrecks in the region, including the wrecks of treasure-filled Spanish galleons.