Distrito Capital is a federal district that includes the capital city of Caracas. Once it had its own local government and governor, it was made the Metropolitan District of Caracas, covering four other nearby municipalities: El Hatillo, Sucre, Baruta and Chacao. The district first experienced modernization under the presidency of Antonio Guzmán Blanco, who decreed the National Pantheon which is now one of the most famous historic sites in Venezuela.