The Federal Dependencies of Venezuela consist of 600 offshore islands and small rock formations in the Gulf of Venezuela and in the Caribbean Sea. The islands are under the authority of Caracas’ mayor. They are sparsely populated and many are uninhabited. The Dependencies have about 3000 permanent residents. The rest live here on a seasonal basis, solely for the fishing.

The uninhabited La Tortuga is the largest island, which covers almost half of the Federal Dependencies’ territory.