The Central Region is made up of the Central Area, or the Central Business District, and 10 areas surrounding it. Singapore’s Urban Redevelopment Authority further subdivided the Central Area into the Downtown Core, Marina East, Marina South, Museum, Newton, Orchard, Outram, River Valley, Rochor, Singapore River, and Straits View to help maximize land use and ensure a mix of commercial and residential areas.