The Canary Islands consist of seven major islands and one minor island, plus some small islets. This sunny island group are named not after yellow birds, but after the indigenous wild dogs ("Canaria" in Latin). The sun shines most of the year, and the temperature usually stays comfortably at around 20 degrees Celsius.

The Canary Islands divide into two provinces, Las Palmas and Santa Cruz de Tenerife. Their respective capitals (Las Palmas de Gran Canaria and Santa Cruz de Tenerife) are jointly the capitals of the Canary Islands.

Tourists are drawn to the Canary Islands sandy beaches.� The volcanic scenery on the islands also provides many attractions, including craters, volcanic cones and other formations, and both white sand black beaches.