Andalucia, the land of bullfighting and flamenco, historic towns, picturesque scenery, and sandy beaches, is the most populous of Spain’s regions, and has the second largest land area. Andalucia’s coastline is 500 miles long, much of it beaches.

It is an extraordinarily rich and interesting region, ignoring the appalling impact of the uncontrolled tourist boom on its coast. Remnants of medieval Moorish art and architecture survive in Seville, Cordoba, and Granada, including the legendary palace of Alhambra in Granada.

Andalucia is divided into eight provinces: Huelva, Seville, Cádiz, Córdoba, Málaga, Jaén, Granada and Almería. Each province is named after its capital city. Historic Seville is Andalucia’s capital and largest city.

In the inland highland area, among snow-capped mountains, is the famous province of Granada, where the summers are warm and the winters cool. The temperature can even get to freezing on winter nights. Elsewhere in Andalucia, however, the summers are scorching and the winters mild.